Our second in a two-part program begun in June, Historic Staunton Foundation’s Brown Bag Walking Tour for September will again focus on the theme “rehabilitation of downtown, one building at a time”. We will hear about the process of rehabilitating three different, historically commercial buildings from the perspective of the owner / developer. Two of the buildings we will tour were carefully and thoughtfully reimagined to accommodate various combinations of commercial uses; one provides a unique opportunity for a view of “before” conditions. Building owners will be on hand to discuss processes and challenges unique to each project.
Our first stop will be 1 East Beverley Street, the former location of Hogshead’s Drugs. Hogshead’s occupied the building’s first floor storefront from the late 1800’s until 1970, providing staples, medications, paint, and producing their own brand of soda. Since Hogshead’s closed, the building has housed a dress shop and a bookstore, which remained open from 1990-2010. The upper floors were occupied by various businesses throughout the building’s history including a tailor, physician’s office, and a photographer’s studio. Owner and developer, Chip Clarke, extensively rehabilitated both the interior and exterior of the building, returning a heavily altered facade to its original configuration. The work has retained the original storefront of the first floor, with offices included on the second and third floors.
Second, we will visit 11 South Augusta Street, a half a block south of 1 East Beverley. The building is a pre-1870, three story Italianate structure and is currently empty. Over time the structure housed various commercial uses including a wholesale / retail grocer, liquor sales, and most recently, furniture sales. The south exterior wall of the building carries the remnants of painted advertisement for the furniture business. Owner and developer, Chip Clarke, has invited us to view the condition of the building in process, providing a unique opportunity to view the structure in its “before” state.
On our third and final stop, we will visit 23 Middlebrook Road. Built between 1877 and 1886 as a warehouse for livestock feed and hay, the building’s fundamental configuration features large central bays on each floor. Interior rehabilitation of the building incorporated the original open central bays, an historic elevator, exposed brick walls, structural beams, and existing wooden floors. Work on the exterior of the building features the restoration of the original architectural features, including wooden decorative elements in several locations. The efforts of Joanie Eiland and Randy Laird have resulted in establishing a suite of offices and an overnight guest area available for rent.
Tour meets in front of 1 East Beverley Street at the intersection of Augusta and Beverley Streets.